You are here: BRICS Think Tanks Council (BTTC) -> BTTC Working Groups 2014/15

BTTC Working Groups

As agreed during the BTTC meeting on 17 March, 2014 in Rio de Janeiro, five Working Groups were formed, in order to produce substantive analyses on each of the five Pillars recommended by the BTTC for the BRICS Long-term Strategy. The working groups are:


Pillar Draft areas of coverage Focal point persons

Group 1: Promoting cooperation for economic growth and development

Lead: China

Coordinator: Yang Lei (CCCWS)

  • The main features of BRICS economic growth and development.
  • The potential for BRICS further cooperation in economic growth and development.
  • Key measures of economic cooperation for BRICS.
  • Mechanisms and roadmap for further economic cooperation.
  • BRICS cooperation in international governance.

Brazil: Gabriel Squeff

Russia: Elena Rogatnykh

India: Vivan Sharan

South Africa: Jaya Josie - HSRC (with support from David Fryer - Rhodes University, Nikki Cattaneo - Rhodes University, Mohamed Seeraj - University of the Witwatersrand, and Peter Jacobs -HSRC)

Group 2: Pillar - Peace and Security

Lead: The Russian Federation

Coordinator: Georgy Toloraya and Victoria Panova (BRICS National Research Committee)

  • Rule of law and polycentric world (BRICS role in resolution of issues pertaining to peace and security);
  • UN role and prospects and main challenges to peace and security.

Russia: Victoria Panova

Brazil: Edison Benedito

India: Nandan Unnikrishnan

China: Yang Lei

South Africa: Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller (HSRC), Dr. Candice Moore (ACCORD) and experts within DIRCO.

Group 3: Pillar - Social Justice, Sustainable Development and Quality of life

Lead: South Africa

Coordinator: Prof. Olive Shisana (HSRC)

  • Social Protection
  • Gender Inequality
  • Education and skills
  • Improving Access to Health Care
  • Urbanization, migration and infrastructure
  • Reducing Poverty and Inequality
  • Housing Water and Sanitation
  • Climate Change, Ecological Degradation, Hunger and Food Insecurity

Brazil: Maria Paula Santos

Russia: Leonid Grigoriev

India: Rumi Aijaz

China: Yang Lei

South Africa: Prof. Olive Shisana (HSRC) as the focal point, and seconded by Prof Narnia Bohler- Muller (HSRC), Jackie Dugard (University of Witwatersrand), Michelle Pressend (independent consultant) and Dennis George (FEDUSA, Labor).

Group 4: Political and economic governance

Lead: India
Coordinator:  Samir Saran (Observer Research Foundation)

  • Economic cooperation for global stability
  • Reform of IMF and the World Bank,
  • The Role of a BRICS Development Bank,
  • Political leadership in International Institutions

Brazil: Carlos Lampert Costa

Russia: Victoria Panova

India: Mr. Jochen Mistelbacher

China: Yang Lei

South Africa: Dr. Temba Masilela (HSRC) and seconded by Prof. Daniel Plaatjies (HSRC), Siphamandla Zondi (Institute for Global Dialogue) and Dr. Alan Hirsh, University of Cape Town.

Group 5: Progress through knowledge and innovation sharing led by Brazil under the coordination of Luis Kubota from IPEA.

  • The main features of the BRICS national system of innovation;
  • Building knowledge for innovation;
  • Strategies and mechanisms to finance innovation;
  • Regulatory framework to promote innovation,
  • International cooperation on knowledge building and innovation sharing.

Brazil: Luis Kubota

Russia: Marina Larionova

India: Jochen Mistelbacher

China: Yang Lei

South Africa: Dr Glenda Kruss (HSRC), David Caplin (University of Cape Town), Gillian Marcel (University of the Witwatersrand), Johan Mouton (University of Stellenbosch), Mammo Muchie (Tshwane University of Technology), Rasigan Maharaj and Erika Kraemer-Mbula (Tshwane University of Technology).

Terms and Conditions
Neque porro quisquam est qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit...
Contact Us
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book.